Q&A about the Graphic Diary

What is the Graphic Diary?

The Graphic Diary is an adaptation of Anne Frank’s original text and selected dialogues that is based on the diary. The Graphic Diary was written, compiled, and illustrated by Ari Folman and David Polonsky. 

The diary of Anne Frank is a contemporary document. Why are you now publishing a graphic version?

When the Anne Frank Fonds decided, together with the family, to publish a graphic diary in the year 2009, two questions were paramount: How can we reach a young readership in the future in their own language, without making concessions in terms of the work and the persons mentioned in it; and, how can the readers’ edition continue to reach young people?

How can a reading audience of today be reached with a historical text?

The definitive readers’ edition is to this day read worldwide. In recent years, the readership has even grown, especially in countries where there has been new interest in Anne Frank lately. At the same time, a change is occurring in the behavior of readers. The youth of today are socialized differently and are growing up in a different historical context and with a different educational background. Due to the Internet, images are becoming increasingly important. This is the reason for the graphic diary edition with original texts, illustrations, and images.

Why is the book being published now?

We developed the project with a view towards the 70th anniversary of the diary's publication. The diary was initially published in 1947, and Anne Frank began writing the diary 75 years ago. In view of this, we wanted to create a new genre: the graphic diary. That is, a documentary testimony with dramatic elements. In this respect, it is definitely a world premiere.

What does the family of Anne Frank say about the Graphic Diary?

The family has supported and promoted the publication from the start, because this form corresponds with the written and oral tradition that had been running through the family all along.

THE NARRATIVE FORM, TEXT AND ILLUSTRATIONS

What is to be understood as the new genre of a “Graphic Diary”?

The diary is a historic source and not a novel. The graphic diary recognizes and respects this character. Thus, it was important to remain faithful to the text, preserve the integrity of the individuals and history as well as the facts. At the same time, however, it was also clear that exaggerations, condensing and narrative solutions are necessary. 

The diary is a contemporary document and not a novel. Can a graphic diary live up to the original?

The graphic diary is a graphic solution with the objective of capturing the original and the time in which it originated. At the same time, this graphic adaptation is a condensation. It is not a scholarly edition, but is based on research. In this respect, the graphic diary differs from the genre of the “graphic novel”, and also from the many investigative, documentary graphic releases of contemporary political topics, as it were.

What content is illustrated by the Graphic Diary?

The Graphic Diary re-enacts the original text, based on Anne Frank's letters to Kitty and the date structure in the diary, from the first to the last entry. The Graphic Diary brings these letters to life in its connection of the text and the images, reads between the lines, interprets, and condenses.

You include many of the letters in their entirety in the book. Why?

Anne Frank possessed noteworthy narrative skills and a sharp power of observation; these make the diary as meaningful beyond its role as a historical testimonial. We want to feature this, and it is for this reason that we started this genre — so that we can retain the diary as a contemporary document and preserve the character of the original. The Graphic Diary works with a lot of original text, which is unusual for such a book. But for us, this was the only way for the diary to retain its integrity and authenticity. It is thus not a graphic novel about Anne or the Frank family, but rather, it is effectively the diary in a graphic form.

What precisely happens in the book?

The story and the tales in the diary are recounted. The Graphic Diary develops the narrative in the text along the lines of the text and dates in the diary of Anne Frank. In addition, the team worked through the archives of the family, historical archives, and many other sources. Not only is there a creative effort behind every illustration, but also a lot of research that resulted in the illustrations and ultimately, the narrative plot.

How did you decide on the illustrations and visualization?

In form, coloration and tradition the illustrations are set in the time of the text's origination.

Is Anne Frank‘s text reflected in the book?

The Graphic Diary contains indeed a very high percentage of the original text, either in form of fully reproduced letters or in the voice-overs. The dialogues were written on the basis of the original text, research and, of course, the creative approach of the authors.

THE TEAM AND DEVELOPMENT

How did you put together the team of authors?

It rapidly became clear: The Graphic Diary must be thought of as a kind of film. And therefore, from the beginning we pulled together a team with this experience. The graphic narrative follows the structure of a movie. Given that it is the content, and not the genre that is of primary importance, the responsible parties should also bring in their personal experience with the contemporary history. Expertise, respect, and personal experience form the framework of the project.

How did you approach the realization of the project?

This first involved addressing the text. It was clear that we had to condense the original text and at the same time retain the storyline. The advantage of the graphic diary is that, in visual imagery, many elements in the text such as feelings, humor and imagination provide many more insights into the text itself. The illustrations sometimes exaggerate the text, make it emotionally tangible, and also provide a picture of what Anne Frank wrote “between the lines” or only implied. 

How many liberties were the authors allowed with the text?

There was one major guideline: To respect the authenticity and integrity of the work and real persons and to honestly reflect the text of Anne Frank.

The Graphic Diary also has fictional elements. Is that legitimate?

These elements are dramatic, but never fictional; they originate from, or are based on the original text in the diary. Depicted is what takes place when reading the texts, and what Anne Frank wrote in terms of dreams, emotions and wishes. 

On which language edition is the text based?

The authors worked with the Dutch original version and the English translations. The translations of the Graphic Diary rely on the respective, original translation as well as the Dutch original. Therefore, the Graphic Diary can be read in all languages along with the long-standing readers’ edition.

Who else contributed to the book?

Besides Ari Folman and David Polonsky, a team of historians, experts, archivists, editors and translators, as well as another team of colorists, storyboarders and additional technical staff were working on this.

Where was the book developed?

Mainly in Israel, Switzerland, the USA, and of course to a certain extent in the Frank's hometown of Frankfurt and their emigration destination, Amsterdam.

In 2019, an animated movie will come out. Will this be an adaptation of the Graphic Diary?

No. The projects are not related to each other either in terms of content nor visually. The movie tells a story with and of Anne Frank. The Graphic Diary is the diary in graphic form.

VARIOUS FORMS OF THE ANNE FRANK DIARIES

What is the readers’ edition of the Anne Frank diary?

The readers’ edition combines the diaries of Anne Frank in one comprehensive volume. It is translated worldwide as the definitive edition and was compiled by Mirjam Pressler. It replaces the edition from 1947, which traced back to an abridged, different compilation of the texts. 

Does the Graphic Diary replace the readers’ edition?

Not at all. The readers’ edition is and remains the principal work of Anne Frank. We ensure that it will remain available worldwide in an unabridged form, in its entirety, and in good translations at reasonable prices. The Graphic Diary ought to serve as an introduction or for additional reading, but the readers’ edition is and remains a fixed element of school literature. The Graphic Diary is to be understood as a supplement.

How does the Graphic Diary differ from the readers’ edition, apart from the graphic form?

The readers’ edition comprises the full text of the diaries of Anne Frank. In the Graphic Diary, the text is considerably condensed. On the one hand, some of the letters from Anne Frank to Kitty are integrally reproduced in the narrative. On the other hand, the diary is reflected in voice-overs and the resulting dramatized dialogues in the speech bubbles. 

For whom is the Graphic Diary intended?

For an international young readership from the age of 12 years. Of course, it is also intended for adults who at one time grew up with the diary and who can now once again experience it in a new form. 

Does the book also exist in digital form?

Yes. The book will exist in digital formats in most territories. 

Which are the different editions of the diary?

There is the worldwide definitive and authorized readers’ edition. That is the edition that can be found around the world and that is read in schools. Furthermore, since 2013, all of the texts of Anne Frank have been combined in a collected works edition. This edition appears on an ongoing basis in new translations and is directed towards senior-level pupils, teachers and students. It will be published this year in French and English. Moreover, the new “Scholarly Critical Edition of the Anne Frank Diaries”, an academic edition with new translations, is soon to be published. 

THE FRANK FAMILY AND THE DIARY

Is the family of Anne Frank supportive of the Graphic Diary?

Since the beginning, Anne Frank’s cousin Buddy Elias supported the decision on behalf of the diary in this narrative form and showed a strong commitment for the idea over the course of time. This is because he saw that he could thereby fulfill an important last will of his uncle Otto Frank: reaching as wide a circle of readers as possible. Anne Frank Fonds (which Buddy Elias chaired until his death in 2015) and the family place an emphasis on preserving the authenticity of the text above all else. At the same time, it was clear for Buddy Elias, who was himself a gifted narrator and actor, that this form can appeal to the youth of today at their level. It also manages to juxtapose the very prevalent humor and imagination in the family with the known sad and serious context of the story.

Why did Anne Frank's father establish the Anne Frank Fonds in 1963?

Otto Frank wanted to ensure that the diary be published worldwide in a thoughtful and responsible manner, and that the proceeds from the book entirely flow back into society or into projects of organizations that promote education, dialogue, and coexistence, etc. This is why he appointed the Fonds as his worldwide universal heir. It is the only organization that Otto Frank ever founded and also managed. 

The Anne Frank Fonds is the universal heir of the family. What does that mean?

The Anne Frank Fonds ensures that the estate of the family is being professionally safeguarded in the archives. As the copyright holder of the texts, the organization licenses these to partner publishers in worldwide, authorized, well-translated editions. The Anne Frank Fonds grants licenses for dramatizations in the performing arts. It promotes scholarly investigations of the history and archives and promotes their dissemination on behalf of training and educational projects. Moreover, the organization represents the family. 

What happens with the proceeds from book sales or licenses?

The Anne Frank Fonds donates all proceeds to charities around the world for educational or scholarly work. Furthermore it funds projects for promoting the story, in the effort to fight discrimination against minorities, for the rights of children, and for heightening awareness against anti-Semitism. The Foundation Board of the Anne Frank Fonds works on an honorary basis.

top

Q&A zum Graphic Diary

Was ist das Graphic Diary?

Das Graphic Diary ist eine Adaption von Anne Franks Originaltext und ausgewählten Dialogen, die auf dem Tagebuch basieren. Das Graphic Diary wurde von Ari Folman und David Polonsky getextet, zusammengestellt und illustriert. 

Das Tagebuch der Anne Frank ist ein Zeitdokument. Weshalb publizieren Sie nun eine grafische Version?

Als der Anne Frank Fonds zusammen mit der Familie im Jahre 2009 entschied, ein Graphic Diary herauszubringen, standen zwei Fragen im Vordergrund: Wie können wir in Zukunft eine junge Leserschaft in ihrer Sprache erreichen, ohne Konzessionen an Werk und darin erwähnte Personen zu machen, und wie kann die Lesebuchausgabe Jugendliche weiterhin erreichen?

Wie kann heute ein Lesepublikum mit einem historischen Text erreicht werden?

Die verbindliche Lesebuchausgabe wird bis heute weltweit  gelesen. In den letzten Jahren hat die Leserschaft sogar zugenommen, gerade auch in Ländern, wo die Auseinandersetzung mit Anne Frank relativ neu ist. Zugleich findet eine Veränderung im Leserverhalten statt. Die Jugendlichen von heute sind anders sozialisiert, wachsen in einem anderen historischen Kontext und mit anderer Vorbildung auf. Bilder werden gerade durch das Internet immer wichtiger. Deshalb die grafische Tagebuchausgabe mit Originaltexten, Illustrationen und Bildern.

Wieso kommt das Buch jetzt heraus?

Wir haben das Projekt mit Blick auf das 70. Jubiläum der Tagebuchpublikation entwickelt. 1947 kam das Tagebuch erstmals heraus, und vor 75 Jahren hat Anne Frank begonnen, das Tagebuch zu schreiben. Im Hinblick darauf wollten wir ein  neues Genre schaffen: das Graphic Diary. Also ein dokumentarisches Zeugnis mit dramatisierten Elementen. Insofern ist das eine absolute Weltpremiere.

Was sagt die Familie von Anne Frank zum Graphic Diary?

Sie hat die Herausgabe von Anfang unterstützt und gefördert. Denn diese Form entspricht der in der Familie seit jeher verankerten Schreib- und Erzähltradition.

ERZÄHLFORM, TEXT UND ILLUSTRATIONEN

Was ist unter dem neuen Genre „Graphic Diary“ zu verstehen?

Das Tagebuch ist eine historische Quelle und kein Roman. Das Graphic Diary würdigt und respektiert diesen Charakter. Wichtig waren also Texttreue, die Wahrung der Integrität von Personen und Geschichte sowie Fakten. Zugleich war aber auch klar, dass Überzeichnungen, Verdichtungen und erzählerische Lösungen nötig sind. 

Das Tagebuch ist ein Zeitdokument und kein Roman. Kann ein Graphic Diary dem Original gerecht werden?

Das Graphic Diary ist eine graphische Lösung mit dem Ziel, das Original und die Zeit in der es entstanden zu erfassen. Zugleich ist diese grafische Adaption eine Verdichtung. Es ist keine wissenschaftliche Ausgabe, basiert aber auf  Erkenntnissen der Forschung. Insofern unterscheidet sich das Grahic Diary vom Genre der „Grahic Novel“ und gleichsam auch von den vielen investigativen dokumentarischen Graphic-Ausgaben etwa zu zeitpolitischen Themen.

Welche Inhalte zeigt das Graphic Diary?

Das Graphic Diary inszeniert den Originaltext, ausgehend von Anne Franks Briefen an Kitty und der Datumsstruktur im Tagebuch, vom ersten bis zum letzten Eintrag. Das Graphic Diary erweckt diese Briefe in der Verbindung von Text und Bild zum Leben, liest zwischen den Zeilen, interpretiert und verdichtet.

Sie bilden viele ganze Briefe im Buch ab. Weshalb?

Anne Frank verfügte über herausragende erzählerische Qualitäten und eine scharfe Beobachtungsgabe; diese machen das Tagebuch über das Zeitzeugnis hinaus so bedeutsam. Das wollen wir zeigen und haben deshalb das Genre aufgebrochen, damit wir das Tagebuch als Zeitdokument erhalten und den Charakter des Originals wahren können. Das Graphic Diary arbeitet mit viel Originaltext – was für ein solches Buch ungewöhnlich ist. Dies war für uns aber der einzige Weg, dem Tagebuch seine Integrität und Authentizität zu belassen. Es ist also keine Graphic Novel über Anne oder Familie Frank, sondern effektiv das Tagebuch als Graphic Diary.

Was passiert konkret im Buch?

Die Geschichte und Geschichten im Tagebuch werden erzählt. Das Graphic Diary entwickelt die Narrative im Text entlang den Texten und Daten im Tagebuch von Anne Frank. Darüber hinaus hat das Team Archive der Familie, historische Archive und viele andere Quellen verarbeitet. Hinter jeder Illustration steht nicht nur eine kreative Leistung, sondern auch viel Recherche, die zu den Illustrationen und letztlich Erzählhandlung führte.

Wie haben Sie sich für die Illustrationen und Visualisierung entschieden?

Die Illustrationen sind in Form, Kolorierung und Tradition der Zeit der Entstehung des Textes angesiedelt.

Ist Anne Franks Text im Buch?

Das Graphic Diary hat einen sehr hohen Anteil Originaltext in den vollständig publizierten Briefen aus dem Tagebuch und in den Voice Overs. Die Dialoge entstanden auf Basis des Originaltexts und Recherchen sowie natürlich dem kreativen Zugang der Autoren.

TEAM UND ENTWICKLUNG

Wie haben Sie das Team der Autoren zusammengestellt?

Es war rasch klar: Das Graphic Diary muss als eine Art Film gedacht werden. Und daher haben wir von Anfang an ein Team mit dieser Erfahrung zusammengestellt. Die grafische Erzählung folgt einer Filmstruktur. Da es zuerst um Inhalte und nicht um das Genre geht, sollten die Verantwortlichen überdies die persönliche Erfahrung mit der Zeitgeschichte einbringen. Fachkompetenz, Respekt und die persönliche Erfahrung bilden den Rahmen des Projekts.

Wie sind Sie für die Umsetzung vorgegangen?

Zuerst ging es um den Text. Es war klar, dass wir den Originaltext kondensieren und zugleich die Storyline bewahren mussten. Der Vorteil des Graphic Diary ist, dass viele der Elemente im Text wie Gefühle, Witz, Phantasie in einer Bildsprache viel mehr Einblicke in den Text selbst vermitteln können. Die Illustrationen überzeichnen den Text, machen ihn gefühlsmässig greifbar und setzen auch ins Bild, was Anne Frank zwischen den Zeilen schrieb oder nur andeutete. 

Wie viel Freiheiten hatten die Autoren?

Es gab  eine Vorgabe: Authentizität und Integrität von Werk und realen Personen zu respektieren und den Text von Anne Frank ehrlich zu inszenieren.

Im Graphic Diary hat es auch fiktionale Elemente. Ist das legitim?

Diese Elemente sind  dramatisiert, aber nie fiktional; sie entstammen bzw. basieren auf  dem Originaltext im Tagebuch. Was sich beim Lesen des Texte abspielt und was Anne Frank an Träumen, Emotionen und Wünschen formuliert hat, wird ins Bild gesetzt. 

Auf welcher Sprachausgabe basiert der Text?

Die Autoren haben mit der holländischen Originalversion und den englischen Übersetzungen gearbeitet. Die  Übersetzungen des Graphic Diary greifen auf die jeweilige Originalübersetzung sowie das holländische Original zurück. Daher kann das Graphic Diary in allen Sprachen entlang der seit Jahren verbindlichen Lesebuchausgabe gelesen werden.

Wer hat alles am Buch mitgearbeitet?

Neben Ari Folman und David Polonsky waren ein Team von Historikern, Experten, Archivaren, Lektoren und Übersetzern sowie ein anderes Team von Koloristen, Storyboardern und weiteren technischen Mitarbeitenden damit beschäftigt.

Wo ist das Buch entstanden?

Wesentlich in Israel, der Schweiz, den USA sowie natürlich teilweise im Heimatort Frankfurt und der Emigrationsstadt Amsterdam der Franks.

Im Jahre 2019 wird ein Animationsfilm herauskommen. Handelt es sich dabei um eine Adaption des Graphic Diary?

Nein. Die beiden Projekte haben weder inhaltlich noch visuell miteinander zu tun. Der Film erzählt eine Geschichte mit und um Anne Frank. Das Graphic Diary ist das Tagebuch in grafischer Form.

VERSCHIEDENE FORMEN DER TAGEBÜCHER VON ANNE FRANK

Was ist die Lesebuchausgabe des Tagebuchs von Anne Frank?

Die Lesebuchausgabe vereint die Tagebücher von Anne Frank in einem vollständigen Werk. Sie ist als weltweit verbindliche Ausgabe übersetzt und wurde von Mirjam Pressler zusammengestellt. Sie ersetzte die Ausgabe von 1947, die die auf eine gekürzte, andere Zusammenstellung  der Texte zurückgeht. 

Soll das Graphic Diary die Lesebuchausgabe ersetzen?

Keinesfalls. Die Lesebuchausgabe ist und bleibt das Hauptwerk von Anne Frank. Wir stellen weltweit sicher, dass dieses ungekürzt, ganzheitlich und in guten Übersetzungen zu günstigen Preisen erhältlich ist. Das Graphic Diary kann als Einstieg oder weiterführende Lektüre dienen, aber die Lesebuchausgabe ist und bleibt fester Bestandteil der Schullektüre. Das Graphic Diary ist als eine Ergänzung zu verstehen.

Wie unterscheidet sich das Graphic Diary, abgesehen von der grafischen Darstellungsform, von der Lesebuchausgabe?

In der Lesebuchausgabe ist der ganze Text der Tagebücher von Anne Frank enthalten. Im Graphic Diary ist der Text stark verdichtet. Zum einen werden  viele Briefe von Anne Frank an Kitty im Wortlaut integral in die Erzählung übernommen. Zum anderen werden in Voice Overs das Tagebuch und in den Sprechblasen die daraus dramatisierten Dialoge publiziert. 

Für wen ist das Graphic Diary gedacht?

Für eine internationale junge Leserschaft ab 12 Jahren. Natürlich auch für  Erwachsene, die einst mit dem Tagebuch aufgewachsen sind und dieses nun in einer neuen Form nochmals erleben können. 

Gibt es das Buch auch in digitaler Form?

Ja. In den meisten Territorien wird es das Buch in digitalen Formaten zu lesen geben. 

Was für unterschiedliche Ausgaben des Tagebuches gibt es?

Es gibt die weltweit verbindliche und autorisierte Lesebuchausgabe. Das ist die Ausgabe, die weltweit erhältlich ist und in Schulen gelesen wird. Seit 2013 sind ferner sämtliche Texte von Anne Frank in einer Gesamtausgabe vereint. Diese Ausgabe erscheint laufend in neuen Übersetzungen und richtet sich an Schülerinnen und Schüler der Oberstufe, Lehrpersonen und Studierende. Sie wird dieses Jahr in Französisch und Englisch herauskommen. Dann wird die neue "Kritische wissenschaftliche Ausgabe" der Tagebücher von Anne Frank erscheinen, eine akademische Ausgabe mit neuen Übersetzungen. 

DIE FAMILIE FRANK UND DAS TAGEBUCH

Stützt die Familie von Anne Frank das Graphic Diary?

Anne Franks Cousin Buddy Elias hat den Entscheid für das Tagebuch in dieser Erzählform von Anfang an unterstützt und entwickelte im Laufe der Zeit ein grosses Engagement für die Idee. Denn er hat gesehen, dass er damit eine wichtige testamentarische Verfügung seines Onkels Otto Frank erfüllen konnte: das Lesepublikum zu erreichen. Der Anne Frank Fonds, den Buddy Elias präsidierte, und die Familie stellen die Wahrung der Authentizität des Textes allen Projekten voran. Zugleich war für Buddy Elias, der ja selbst ein begnadeter Erzähler und Schauspieler war, klar, dass diese Form die Jugend von heute auf Augenhöhe ansprechen kann. Und zwar neben den bekannten traurigen und ernsten Kontexten der Geschichte mit in der Familie sehr verbreitetem Humor und Phantasie.

Weshalb gründete 1963 Anne Franks Vater den Anne Frank Fonds?

Otto Frank wollte sicherstellen, dass das Tagebuch weltweit in umsichtiger und verantwortungsbewusster Weise publiziert wird und die Einnahmen aus dem Buch vollumfänglich in die Gesellschaft oder in Projekte von Organisation zur Förderung von Bildung, Dialog, Koexistenz etc. fliessen. Deshalb setzte er den Fonds als weltweiten Universalerben ein. Er ist die einzige Organisation, die Otto Frank jemals gegründet und auch präsidiert hat. 

Der Anne Frank Fonds ist Universalerbe der Familie. Was bedeutet das?

Der Anne Frank Fonds stellt sicher, dass die Erbschaft der Familie in Archiven gesichert ist. Als Inhaber der Texte publiziert die Organisation diese mit den Partnerverlagen in einer weltweit verbindlichen Form in guten Übersetzungen. Der Anne Frank Fonds vergibt Lizenzen für Dramatisierungen in Theater, Film und anderen Formen. Er fördert die wissenschaftliche Erschliessung der Historie und Archive und fördert deren Vermittlung im Rahmen von Bildungs- und Erziehungsprojekten. Darüber hinaus vertritt die Organisation die Familie. 

Was geschieht mit den Einnahmen aus Buchverkäufen oder Lizenzen?

Der Anne Frank Fonds spendet sämtliche Einnahmen für Wohltätigkeit weltweit für erzieherische oder wissenschaftliche Arbeit und Projekte zur Vermittlung der Geschichte, im Einsatz gegen Diskriminierung von Minderheiten, für Rechte von Kindern sowie in der Aufklärung gegen Antisemitismus. Der Stiftungsrat des Anne Frank Fonds arbeitet ehrenamtlich.

top